Provost awards 32 professors with McGill and Dawson Chairs

July 9, 2020  — 
Share this:
The University’s newest Distinguished James McGill Professors. Top row (l to r): Shari Baum, Peter Grutter, Vicky Kaspi, Leonard Levin, and Morag Park. Bottom row (l to r): Dieter Reinhardt, Christine Ross, Guy Rouleau, Ernesto Schiffrin and Robyn Tamblyn

Canada is routinely ranked among the world’s most innovative countries, and this consistency is driven by the country’s significant investments in research. In 2000, the Canadian government launched the Canada Research Chair Program to make Canada one of the world’s top countries in R&D. In parallel, McGill University launched its own series of awards that recognize the excellence of its researchers, as well as their leadership at the international level.

These awards are the James McGill Professor (JMP) awards and the William Dawson Scholar (WDS) awards. These are complemented by the Distinguished James McGill Professors (DJMP) awards for late-career researchers – McGill’s highest honour – which were created in 2017. This year, the Office of the Provost and Vice Principal, which administers these awards, has selected a total of 32 Professors to be honoured in these categories.

The awardees are:

Both the JMP and WDS awards come with an annual salary supplement and an annual research allowance not exceeding $25,000. The Distinguished James McGill Professor award provides for a $10,000 academic stipend or a $15,000 research grant allowance. DJMPs have held James McGill Professorships for two seven-year terms while maintaining an outstanding research record, or who have held a Canada Research Chairs (Tier 1) for two seven-year terms. DJMP awardees hold the distinction until retirement, and those granted Emeritus status retain the title.

The post Provost awards 32 professors with McGill and Dawson Chairs appeared first on McGill Reporter.

Article courtesy of The McGill Reporter

Article courtesy of The McGill Reporter